today we read poetry. next week, revolution

listening to the land

“I’m a slow learner. My school days were tough. My mother had 8 children. She tried her best but times were hard. If my family had money, things would have been better. I dropped out in the 4th form. My mother said just don’t make any children and try to do better for yourself.” She’s 26 now. She still doesn’t have any children. She sells sweeties, hair ribbons, and other little things on the pave in Georgetown. At night, she assembles and folds a newspaper she can barely read. She wants to do better though, to write CXCs next year, and get her driver’s license. Today, we read poetry. Next week, revolution.

flying fish

Leave a Reply

